31 Aug 2019

SECT: Hardcore Collective Surprises Fans With The Release Of New Album, Blood Of The Beasts, Out Now Through Southern Lord; Album Streaming + “Like Animals” Video Playing

SECT photo by Tatsuya Okumura

North American hardcore collective SECT surprises fans today with the release of their new album Blood Of The Beasts, available now via Southern Lord. The entire record is now streaming in its entirety. SECT also today issues a video for the track “Like Animals” in conjunction with the album’s release.

Comprised of hardcore acts from across the US and Canada dating back to the early 1990s, the members of SECT are life-long committed scene veterans, including vocalist Chris Colohan (Cursed, Burning Love, Left For Dead), guitarists James Chang (Catharsis, Undying) and Scott Crouse (Earth Crisis, The Path Of Resistance), bassist Steve Hart (Day Of Suffering), and drummer Andy Hurley (Racetraitor, The Damned Things). The band coalesces their influences into a gnarled, caustic, metallic alloy of pulverizing hardcore intensity.

As with their previous album, No Cure For Death, SECT‘s Blood Of The Beasts LP was recorded at GodCity with Kurt Ballou (Converge, Nails, All Pigs Must Die) who also performed clean guitar on the song “Skies Wide Shut.” The infamous Dre Black also provides guest vocals on the song “Cirrhosis Of Youth.”

Stream SECT’s Blood Of The Beasts in its entirety at Bandcamp HERE and see the Reid Haithcock-directed “Like Animals” video HERE.

With the release of Blood Of The Beasts, vocalist Chris Colohan calls the album, “ten reflections on the myth of progress, the new old tribalism, the single face of all subjugations, the broken promise of automation, love, loss and obsolescence, set against the dying light of a better tomorrow.”

Blood Of The Beasts is out now on CD, LP, and all digital platforms through Southern Lord. Find options at the US label webshop HERE, European webshop HERE, and Bandcamp HERE.

Blood Of The Beasts Track Listing:

  1. Like Animals
  2. You Too Will Scatter
  3. Wait
  4. Domestic
  5. Terminus
  6. Redundant Gods
  7. Broken & Untenable
  8. The Blankest Cheque
  9. Cirrhosis Of Youth
  10. Skies Wide Shut

SECT has confirmed two East Coast shows directly in conjunction with the album’s release. This weekend they play Brooklyn tomorrow, Saturday, August 31st, followed by a show in the nation’s capital Sunday, September 1st. SECT has also announced a trio of California shows in San Diego, Fullerton, and Berkeley October 11th through 13th. Watch for additional tour actions to be announced in the weeks ahead.

SECT Tour Dates:
8/31/2019 Saint Vitus Bar – Brooklyn, NY
9/01/2019 The Pinch – Washington, DC
10/11/2019 Che Café – San Diego, CA
10/12/2019 Programme Skate & Sound – Fullerton, CA
10/13/2019 924 Gilman – Berkeley, CA

For review copies of Blood Of The Beasts and all coverage/interviews with SECT in North America contact dave@earsplitcompound.com and internationally contact lauren@rarelyunable.com.