20 Oct 2023

Marthe Releases New Album Further In Evil

LORD305 Marthe - Further In Evil

“..Marthe’s nasty, dirgy sound is imbued with occasional flecks of melody and a crusty, galloping urgency that sets her apart from anyone else. Southern Lord was smart enough to sign her, so now it’s your duty to know her.” Revolver, Artists You Need to Know

“puts sludge, black metal, and crust punk in a truly evil blender” – BrooklynVegan

“…in true Marthe fashion, the darkness and despair is captured in a way that still results in some serious head banging.” – Metal Sucks

“…a remarkable blend of black metal and punk attitude, which all comes together to brilliantly show off Marzia’s musical talents.” – The Pit

Out now via Southern Lord — listen here. Watch Official Music Videos for the album’s title track and “To Ruined Altars…

Further In Evil is the debut full length from one-woman metal band, Marthe, which arrives today via Southern Lord Records. An atmospheric and aggressive blend of punk, Further In Evil is a shift in gears from her musical background in the anarcho-punk scene and inspired by riot grrrl, crust and d-beat. The lyrics are full of rage and the music is full of strength; it has the power of Bathory and the sadness of Tiamat, tinged with the stench of Amebix.

The narrative of Further In Evil is “a journey into evil. I consider it an epiphany in growing armor to make myself stronger. The title means entering the gates of darkness, becoming cold and detached so as not to suffer anymore,” explains Marzia, the woman behind the Marthe project. The source of many of the lyrics comes from a place of betrayal, and grief at losing “people who were central to me.” She comments, “we are alone”, but expels it as a statement of empowerment, rather than sadness – “the strength is ours.” As well as being introspective, Marthe’s lyrics look outwards at “contexts of injustice and suffering, when the main feeling is not having a voice.” Marthe’s music takes influence from other non-musical media as well – she cites the mood, atmosphere and colors of old school Italian horror movies, and continually comes back to nature as a source of inspiration.

Listen / share Further In Evil on Bandcamp.

Read a track-by-track breakdown of Further In Evil by Marthe via New Noise Magazine.

Marthe is, at heart, a solo bedroom project— born out of introversion and a desire to explore new horizons and landscapes alone. “Around 2012, I started feeling the need to express myself in a heavier and more atmospheric way,” Marthe says. “I coincidentally started hiking more and more… getting closer to lonely soundscapes: my life, feelings and moods started being more introspective and introverted.” She continues, “Marthe suddenly became my comfort zone, my therapy, my shadow of loneliness, my book of truths, my mirror, my alter ego. Locking the door and disappearing in darkness recording music alone became something so powerful… I probably never really met myself before that.”

Marthe has long been a self-sufficient and introspective voice in metal and punk, and further cements that with the release of Further In Evil.

Marthe-Photo by Silvia Polmonari
Photo by: Silvia Polmonari

Marthe, Further In Evil track listing:

  1. I Ride Alone
  2. Dead to You
  3. Further In Evil
  4. Victimized
  5. To Ruined Altars
  6. Sin In My Heart