2 Oct 2020

DEAD END AMERICA: Project Featuring Current/Former Members Of Poison Idea, Queens Of The Stone Age, EyeHateGod, The Accüsed A.D., And More To Issue Crush The Machine EP Via Southern Lord; Teaser Posted

DEAD END AMERICA, The Accüsed A.D. drums

See DEAD END AMERICA’s Crush The Machine teaser HERE.

Southern Lord presents the special debut EP from West Coast anti-Trump hardcore/punk super collective DEAD END AMERICA, formed by the late, great Steve “Thee Slayer Hippy” Hanford of Poison Idea, with current and former members of Queens Of The Stone Age, EyeHateGod, The Accüsed A.D., World Of Lies, Ape Machine, and more. Wholly captured before Hanford’s passing earlier this year, the outfit’s crushing Crush The Machine debut EP is now confirmed for digital and 7″ release this Fall, the label issuing the record’s cover art, track listing, a brief teaser, the liner notes by Mark Lanegan, and more.

The four ripping tracks on D.E.A.‘s Crush The Machine see primary writers drummer/vocalist Steve Hanford and guitarist Tony Avila (World Of Lies, Why Won’t You Die, Aborted Cop, Here’s Your Warning) joined by lead guitarist Ian Watts (Ape Machine, Minmae) and bassist/vocalist Nick “Rex Everything” Oliveri (Mondo Generator, The Dwarves, ex-Kyuss, ex-Queens Of The Stone Age), with additional lyrics and vocals from Mike IX Williams (EyeHateGod, Corrections House, Arson Anthem, Outlaw Order) and Blaine Cook (The Accüsed A.D., The Fartz, Toe Tag).

The music for Crush The Machine was recorded at House Of Tain in Milwaukee, Oregon, The Magic Closet in Stayton, Oregon, and Mondo Generator Studios in Salton Sea, California. Mike IX’s vocals on “Bullet for .45 (Straight From A .45)” were recorded by Sanford Parker at Hypercube in Chicago, Illinois, and Blaine Cook’s vocals on “Searching For A Reason” were recorded at RGP in Portland, Oregon. The tracks were mixed by Mr. Ian Watts at The Magic Closet and mastered by Nick Townsend at Townsend Mastering, and the EP completed with cover art by Dirty Donny and layout by Emma Maatman.

See a brief teaser for DEAD END AMERICA’s Crush The Machine RIGHT HERE.

Southern Lord will release Crush The Machine digitally on October 30th, with the 7″ vinyl to follow a month later. Watch for digital preorders to post at this Friday, October 2nd at Bandcamp HERE.

Watch for full audio premieres and more from Crush The Machine to be issued over the weeks ahead.

“A perfectly appropriate title for this 7-inch EP of jack-hammering, old-school style hardcore tunes released by Southern Lord, written and played by a rogues gallery of real deal music lifers as a condemnation of the criminal Trump administration and republican party, in the same spirit of those by-gone days when Ronald Reagan or George Bush was the crooked, self-serving president of the crumbling United States empire. Never before has there been a more obvious target, as Donald Trump and his mafia family cabinet rape the country while Rome burns. D.E.A. is Tony Avila, Ian Watts, Nick Oliveri, Mike IX, Blaine Cook, and the legendary and beloved, late producer and drummer of Poison Idea, Steve ‘Thee Slayer Hippy’ Hanford. Dying shortly before the completion of this record, it stands as a final testament to his genius, one last hot-wired blast of his epic musical brilliance.” – Mark Lanegan, August 2020

LORD281 Dead End America - Crush the Machine 7"

Crush The Machine Track Listing:
1. Dead White Hands
2.Twitter Troll
3. Bullet For 45 (Straight From A .45)
4. Searching For A Reason

Steve “Thee Slayer Hippy” Hanford – drums, vocals
Tony Avila – guitar
Ian Watts – lead guitar
Nick “Rex Everything” Oliveri – bass, vocals
Mike IX Williams – vocals
Blaine Cook – vocals

Review copies of DEAD END AMERICA’s Crush The Machine are currently being dispatched. For coverage of the band in The Americas contact dave@earsplitcompound.com and in Europe contact lauren@rarelyunable.com.