The Cliff

Formats: CD, Black Vinyl LP

This product is currently out of stock and unavailable.

SKU: LORD205 Category: Tag:

“The Cliff” is a new “vocal driven”  12” /EP release from Chicago’s esteemed instrumental quartet Pelican. The 12” vinyl is  fresh reimaginings of ‘The Cliff’, a highlight from their most recent album, 2013’s Forever Becoming, and one recently completed new song. The four track EP includes remixes from Justin Broadrick (of Godflesh, Jesu), Aaron Harris and Bryant Clifford Meyer of ISIS/Palms, and, for only the second time in their fourteen year career, vocals.  Allen Epley (Shiner, The Life and Times) once again returns to the band’s fold to transform, in a complementary manner, the concept and overall outcome of what we have come to know as Pelican. No cheap juxtaposition, Epley’s seasoned voice is as broad and astonishingly capable on “The Cliff” as the members behind the music, a claim those who have listened to Epley’s contribution on “Final Breath” from 2009’s What We All Come To Need will attest to. Elsewhere on the record, Justin Broadrick and AH/BCM turn in fresh takes of the source material, feeling less like remixes than new compositions reworked from the original source. Rounding out the set is the previously unreleased song “The Wait”, a contemplative semi-acoustic simmer that builds to an explosion of cathartic distortion and melody in true Pelican fashion. Mailorder customers receive limited edition (1,000) opaque orange vinyl version.


The Cliff (Vocal Version)
The Cliff (Justin Broadrick Remix)
The Cliff (Palms Remix – A. Harris and B. C. Meyer)
The Wait


You might like …